Book Review: The Art of Ratchet & Clank

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 01


This is a wonderful artbook for fans of Ratchet & Clank.

It's a huge 248-page hardcover that features the concept art for the Ratchet & Clank games, from the first that was released in 2002 to 2013's Ratchet & Clank: Into the Nexus.

The art is really nice, and I like that they have packed so much variety in style. There are rough sketches, fully illustrated and coloured characters and digital paintings. The character designs look great. There's this comic or cartoon-like style that's so appealing. I love the dynamism in the designs and there are so many interesting characters. The book also features art for environment and weapons.

The only downside is since there are so many games, it's quite impossible to fit all the art into a single book without making it even thicker. There's no doubt that some art or section has to be dropped. But overall, it's still a terrific collection of art.

Highly recommended for the fans and those who like this style of art. Check out pictures of selected pages below.

-

This book was borrowed from Basheer Graphic Books for review purposes. You can order the book from them. Check with Basheer on Facebook.

The Art of Ratchet & Clank is available at Amazon (US | CA | UK | DE | FR | IT | ES | JP | CN) and Book Depository

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 02

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 03

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 04

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 05

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 06

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 07

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 08

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 09

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 10

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 11

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 12

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 13

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 14

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 15

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 16

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 17

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 18

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 19

The Art of Ratchet & Clank - 20

Visit Amazon to check out more reviews.

If you buy the links, I get a little commission that helps me get more books to feature.

Here are direct links to the book:
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.de | Amazon.fr | Amazon.it | Amazon.es | Amazon.co.jp | Amazon.cn | Bookdepository.com

This book was borrowed from Basheer Graphic Books for review purposes. You can order the book from them. Check with Basheer on Facebook.

Tags: 

1 Comment

Thanks for this review. I

Thanks for this review. I have this book and on the one hand i think it's a wonderfull book but on the other hand i must say that it's a bit disappointing. There is a lot of art in this book and it's great but you can find 98% of these artworks, and much more, on the web. I was waiting for new artworks so that's why i don't regret my money but i think it really misses something...

Add new comment