Book Review: Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1

Covers by James Jean

This book contains the covers drawn by James Jean for Fables.

Each cover is printed, in high resolution, on semi-gloss high quality paper. The book itself if hardcover with a dust jacket. The art on the hard cover is slightly embossed with a sticker pasted at the centre.

There are 75 single issues and 11 wraparounds, a wonderful look at his creative style over the years.

Also included are the sketches James Jean did for his covers. The covers are sometimes accompanied by his thoughts or some quote from the comic.

At the end of the book is an interview conducted by Bill Willingham with James Jean. On the last two pages are photos of his work area. One of them shows the Eisner Awards he has put neatly on his shelves. Strangely, the interview and photos are printed on non glossy paper, which I think will turn yellow in the future.

This book has two publishers, Vertigo and Titan. Depending on where you're buying from, one edition might be cheaper. Not sure on the construction quality though.

This is a highly recommended book for fans of James Jean or Fables.

Fables Covers by James Jean is available at Amazon (US | CA | UK | DE | FR | IT | ES | JP | CN) and Book Depository

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 01

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 02

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 03

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 04

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 05

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 06

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 07

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 08

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 09

Visit Amazon to check out more reviews.

If you buy the links, I get a little commission that helps me get more books to feature.

The Vertigo publisher edition is available at:
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.de | Amazon.fr | Amazon.it | Amazon.es | Amazon.co.jp | Amazon.cn | Bookdepository.com

The Titan publisher edition is available at:
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.de | Amazon.fr | Amazon.it | Amazon.es | Amazon.co.jp | Amazon.cn | Bookdepository.com

Tags: 

12 Comments

Thanks for sharing the pics.

Thanks for sharing the pics. I came upon your blog via the Amazon link.

Wanted to get a copy of it the last time at Kinokuniya but hesitated because I wasn't sure of what I was getting. (As of now, I have Vol 1-11 of Fables and they all contained the various cover graphics). But after seeing ya review, I really regretted not getting the book earlier.

Thanks again! I hope to get my hands on it the next time I am at Kino :D

I received my book today from

I received my book today from Amazon.ca and it's the second printing from Veritgo. I was looking forward to getting it as it has high reviews. It was shrinkwrapped which I liked because it will reduce the scratch marks on the cover. Upon opening it I was very disappointed. The production value of this version is horrible; at the spine you can see the pages are loose and the spine ribbon is missing. Upon closer examination I can see and feel a big bulge in the inside front cover; apparently the ribbon (possibly) got glued in the wrong place. The pages are also warped. I'm returning it. It was $40. The Titan version is $50 so I wonder if it has a higher production value.

Comment


comments powered by Disqus