Add new comment

Book Review: Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1

Covers by James Jean

This book contains the covers drawn by James Jean for Fables.

Each cover is printed, in high resolution, on semi-gloss high quality paper. The book itself if hardcover with a dust jacket. The art on the hard cover is slightly embossed with a sticker pasted at the centre.

There are 75 single issues and 11 wraparounds, a wonderful look at his creative style over the years.

Also included are the sketches James Jean did for his covers. The covers are sometimes accompanied by his thoughts or some quote from the comic.

At the end of the book is an interview conducted by Bill Willingham with James Jean. On the last two pages are photos of his work area. One of them shows the Eisner Awards he has put neatly on his shelves. Strangely, the interview and photos are printed on non glossy paper, which I think will turn yellow in the future.

This book has two publishers, Vertigo and Titan. Depending on where you're buying from, one edition might be cheaper. Not sure on the construction quality though.

This is a highly recommended book for fans of James Jean or Fables.

Fables Covers by James Jean is available at Amazon (US | CA | UK | DE | FR | IT | ES | JP | CN) and Book Depository

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 01

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 02

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 03

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 04

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 05

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 06

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 07

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 08

Fables Covers: The Art of James Jean Vol. 1 - 09

Visit Amazon to check out more reviews.

If you buy from the links, I get a little commission that helps me get more books to feature.

The Vertigo publisher edition is available at:
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.de | Amazon.fr | Amazon.it | Amazon.es | Amazon.co.jp | Amazon.cn | Bookdepository.com

The Titan publisher edition is available at:
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.de | Amazon.fr | Amazon.it | Amazon.es | Amazon.co.jp | Amazon.cn | Bookdepository.com

Tags: